Home » Everything You Need to Know About Area Converter

Everything You Need to Know About Area Converter

What is an Area Converter?

An area converter, also known as an area conversion calculator, is an online tool that allows you to convert the unit of measurement of an area. It can be used to transform between various units of measurement, like square feet, square meters, square yards, hectares, acres, etc.

Common Land Area Conversion Units in India

Different units of measurement are in practice in different parts of India. An area converter is the fastest and easiest way to find a value of a unit equivalent to the local terms. The most common land area conversion units are listed below:

Square Meters

A square meter (denoted by m²) is the measurement unit typically used to measure two-dimensional areas, like the floor or ground. It is widely acknowledged as the standard international unit of measurement of an area. 

Square Feet

A square foot (denoted by Sq. ft. or ft²) refers to the area of a square whose each side is equivalent to 1 foot. This measurement unit is used in several other countries besides India to measure the area of plots of land.

Square Yards

A square yard can be defined as an area of a square whose each side measures 3 feet or 1 yard. It is symbolically denoted as yd². Previously considered the standard unit of measurement, a square yard was later replaced by square meters. Nevertheless, in countries like India, the UK, the USA, and Canada, yd² is still predominantly used to measure land.


Denoted by ‘ac’, acre is the oldest measurement unit used across the globe. It was originally used in the traditional imperial system of units and represented an area that is 1 furlong long and 4 rods wide. Acres is used to measure circular, pentagon, rectangular and other shapes of land.


Hectare refers to the unit of a square whose each side measures 100 meters. It is the only metric unit primarily used to measure vast geographical areas, like agricultural fields, land and forests, etc. Hectares is denoted as ‘ha’. 


Traditionally used to measure plots, Bigha is used in several parts of India, including states, like Bihar, West Bengal, Rajasthan, Punjab, Assam, Haryana, UP, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Uttarakhand. However, the value of Bigha differs from state to state. For instance, while pucca bigha is commonly used in Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, parts of UP and Bihar, kuccha Bigha is predominantly used in other parts of the country.

Land Area Conversion Table

To convert the unit of area, one can refer to the following table, which makes it easier to memorize the values.

Unit of Area Unit of Conversion
1 Square inch (Sq. in.) 0.0069444 Square feet (Sq. ft.)
1 Square meter (Sq. m.) 10.76391042 Square feet (Sq. ft.)
1 Square foot (Sq. ft.) 0.092303 Square meters (Sq. m.)
1 Square yard (Sq. yd.) 0.836127 Square meters (Sq. m.)
1 Square yard (Sq. yd.) 0.836127 Square meters (Sq. m.)
1 Hectares (ha) 2.49 Acres (ac)
1 Acres (ac) 4886.92 Gaj
1 Square mile (Sq. mi.) 640 Acres (ac)
1 Bigha 2990 Square yard (Sq. yd.)

Memorizing the above table above can help you get the accurate value of a conversion unit without having to calculate the same. However, to be 100% sure, using an area converter is the best way to go if you ever fail to recall the values in the table or need an estimation of a value that is greater than the ones tabulated above. 

Let’s say, 1 Sq. km. = 247.10 Acres

Therefore, 5 Sq. km. = (247.10 x 5) Acres

                                          = 1235.5 Acres


Having an area converter or area conversion calculator ensures error-free, faster results. The best part about such a tool is that it can be accessed from anywhere at one’s convenience. Such a calculator can also be used to measure the area when mortgaging a loan against property. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *